Connacht Championships 2013 - Gill, O`Connor and Gill are Champions

17/12/2013 23:29

Over 30 players competed in the revived Connacht Racquetball Championships played in St Mary College and Pearse Stadium, Galway on Sunday 15th December.

Danny Gill(Athenry), Matt O`Connor(Moycullen) and Ailbhe Gill(Ballinrobe) are the Mens Senior, Mens Novice and Womens Novice Singles Champions for 2013, the Championships having last taken place in 2005.

Gill, the number 2 seed defeated Castlebar`s Kevin Jennings, seeded number 1 in the final by 2 games to nil. Gill semifinal win was a 2 -1 victory over Padraic Benson (Galway) who earlier eliminated the number 3 seed Padraic Ryder of Newport. Jennings defeated John Walsh (Galway) by 2 games to 1 in his semi-final.

The Men`s Novice Singles was won by newcomer Matt O`Connor of Moycullen who defeated Brian Flannery(Castlebar) by 2 games to 1 in the final. 

Ailbhe Gill(Ballinrobe) became the first Connacht Womens Novice Singles Champion when she defeated Rosie Downey of Moycullen in the final.

Anna Touhy(Castlebar) and Kathleen Conway(Castlebar) were the bronze medalists.